Updatery…

I haven’t been posting much lately.  The reason for this is fairly simple – I’m going to school part time to finish a BS in Information Technology.  From the lack of updates to my list of UFOs, you might think I haven’t been doing much needlework. Actually, I’ve been doing a lot of needlework, to relax from the combination of work and school.  It just hasn’t been needlework on the UFO list.

You see, I’ve finally learned to knit.

I’ve known how to crochet since I was in high school.  I’ve known how to sew and embroider for longer than that.  I taught myself tatting and crazy quilting.  But for many years, knitting just didn’t stick.  No more.

I started with little things: hats, scarves, mittens.  I quickly discovered that sewing seams both bored and annoyed me, so I learned to knit in the round.  Many baby hats followed, with adult size hats not far behind.  I wanted to try larger patterns, so I started knitting baby blankets and shawls.  Most of the projects got donated to charity when they were complete.

So instead of finishing projects on my UFO list, I’ve been starting and finishing knitting projects.  I feel very productive, but the UFO list hasn’t been getting any shorter.  As I find the time (translation: if I find the time) I’ll get some pictures of my knitting uploaded to provide fresh eye candy.  Watch this space!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

